Page 1 of 1

geogrid.exe - Segmentation fault

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2008 10:33 am
by halkar
Has anyone encountered such problem. I am a new WRF user. I just installed and successfully compiled WRFV3 and WPS. Under WPS directory
after the compilation, geogrid.exe, ungrib.exe, and metgrid.exe have been generated. Now, I was following WRF tutorial and implementing a real case study of 01/24/2000.
Ungrib.exe runs without any problems and generates necessary intermediate files.
But, metgrid.exe gives the following error message
WRF_DEBUG: NetCDF error: NetCDF: Index exceeds dimension bound
WRF_DEBUG: NetCDF error in wrf_io.F90, line 1044
ERROR: Couldn't open file ./geo_em.d01.nc for input.
FORTRAN STOP



since geogrid.exe returned with "segmentation fault" even though it generated the following input file - geo_em.d01.nc
anybody has had this problem? and also I would like to mention something else: WRF tutorial states that I should have plotgrid.exe under
WPS/util directory to plot the model grids. but even though I have ncarg (NCAR graphics) installed in my computer, I don't have this utility program which I think it is very useful to see the model grid coverage before attempting to run the model.
Thank you very much in advance.
Haldun karan

Re: geogrid.exe - Segmentation fault

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 11:57 pm
by porpat80
You use version netcdf? how size of domain? you use WPS version 2.2 or 3.0 ?

Re: geogrid.exe - Segmentation fault

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 3:19 am
by jimmyc
if geogrid.exe returned with a segmentation fault; then the problem lies with geogrid. Verify by using:
ncdump geo_em.d01.nc |more

and making sure there is data in the file.

If the file is empty, then make sure you have correctly placed all the geog data where geogrid expects to find it. Check the WRF Users guide for more information.

Re: geogrid.exe - Segmentation fault

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:29 pm
by scaine2
If you are using NMM or anything other than the standard install, make sure that you go to the geogrid directory, check to see where GEOGRID.TBL is linked to, default is to GEOGRID.TBL.ARW, which gave me a seg fault when using the NMM core.

Correct GEOGRID.TBL removes the segmentation fault,

Similary if you have the wrong METGRID.TBL you can get

WRF_DEBUG: NetCDF error: NetCDF: Index exceeds dimension bound
WRF_DEBUG: NetCDF error in wrf_io.F90, line 1044
ERROR: Couldn't open file ./geo_em.d01.nc for input.
FORTRAN STOP

linking the right METGRID.TBL fixed that for more. Note that I thought you used to be able to link the correct versions of these tables into the WPS directory and it would use them, this did not seem to be the case for me reciently, you have to go to the geogrid and metgrid directories and change the links there.

Hopet this helps someone

Re: geogrid.exe - Segmentation fault

PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2013 11:07 am
by anraj761
If the file is empty, then make sure you have correctly placed all the geog data where geogrid expects to find it. Check the WRF Users guide for more information.

Re: geogrid.exe - Segmentation fault

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 1:21 pm
by richard_n413
I got a segmentation fault with using geogrid.exe, but I was able to make it run fine by using sudo geogrid.exe. I don't know why you'd need superuser credentials, but apparently I did.

Re: geogrid.exe - Segmentation fault

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2018 6:50 pm
by etorresm
I got:

ERROR: Couldn't open file ./geo_em.d01.nc for input.

Because I forgot to add:

geog_data_res = 'default',

On the namelist.wps