Page 1 of 1

Problem of moving nest

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 8:15 am
by daming
When I run one moving nest(D01 and D02), everything is fine. But When I
add one more moving nest(D01,D02 and D03), I got some error messages:
Timing for main: time 2006-08-08_15:19:53 on domain 2: 3.42710
elapsed seconds.
Timing for main: time 2006-08-08_15:19:55 on domain 3: 0.20490
elapsed seconds.
Timing for main: time 2006-08-08_15:19:57 on domain 3: 0.49030
elapsed seconds.
Timing for main: time 2006-08-08_15:20:00 on domain 3: 0.77710
elapsed seconds.
i,j,is,ie,js,je,imploc,jmploc 330 334 89
329
93 333 -1 -1
-------------- FATAL CALLED ---------------
FATAL CALLED FROM FILE: <stdin> LINE: 585
time_for_move2: Method failure searching for minimum psfc.
-------------------------------------------
[cli_0]: aborting job:
application called MPI_Abort(MPI_COMM_WORLD, 1) - process 0

I check the variable of wrfout at 20060808 15:00:00, the psfc is less than
940 hPa and wind speed is strong.
namelist:
time_step = 20,
time_step_fract_num = 0,
time_step_fract_den = 1,
max_dom = 3,
e_we = 500, 421, 421,
e_sn = 300, 421, 421,
e_vert = 47, 47, 47,
p_top_requested = 5000,
num_metgrid_levels = 21,
num_metgrid_soil_levels = 4,
dx = 4500, 1500, 500,
dy = 4500, 1500, 500,
grid_id = 1, 2, 3,
parent_id = 0, 1, 2,
i_parent_start = 1, 300, 140,
j_parent_start = 1, 30, 140,
parent_grid_ratio = 1, 3, 3,
parent_time_step_ratio = 1, 3, 3,
feedback = 1,
smooth_option = 0
vortex_interval = 20, 20, 20,
max_vortex_speed = 40, 40, 40,
corral_dist = 0, 8, 30,
track_level = 85000
/
What is wrong with this, thank you for any help.

Re: Problem of moving nest

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:15 pm
by Shepherd_NZ
Hi,

did you manage to solve this problem? I am experiencing exactly the same issue.

Re: Problem of moving nest

PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 3:33 pm
by JamesH
Hi,

I'm having the same issue; I get the error "time_for_move2: Method failure searching for minimum psfc" after 1 vortex_interval unit. Using print statements, I've found that the psfc values called in by the subroutine "time_for_move2" in mediation_nest_move.F are overwritten as either 0 or NaN.

Also, this problem only occurs when I add the following lines to module_initialize_em_quarter_ss.F, which I copied over from module_initialization_real.F:

! Process the soil; note that there are some things hard-wired into
! share/module_soil_pre.F
CALL process_soil_ideal(grid%xland,grid%xice,grid%vegfra,grid%snow,grid%canwat, &
grid%ivgtyp,grid%isltyp,grid%tslb,grid%smois, &
grid%tsk,grid%tmn,grid%zs,grid%dzs,model_config_rec%num_soil_layers,&
model_config_rec%sf_surface_physics(grid%id), &
ids,ide, jds,jde, kds,kde,&
ims,ime, jms,jme, kms,kme,&
its,ite, jts,jte, kts,kte )


Has anyone found a solution?

Cheers
JamesH