HELP:How To setup namelist for running Tc.exe?

Any issues with the actual running of the WRF.

HELP:How To setup namelist for running Tc.exe?

Postby stenny » Tue Apr 21, 2009 2:37 am

when i running the TC bogus program tc.exe,got the following error message:

TC_EM V3.1 PREPROCESSOR
real_em: calling alloc_and_configure_domain
Floating point exception
:? :cry:
stenny
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 2:19 am

Re: HELP:How To setup namelist for running Tc.exe?

Postby chantingfai » Wed Apr 22, 2009 12:40 am

Dear stenny,

How do you do so?
Would you mind sharing your namelist.input?
My tc.exe run just stop at the beginning but I don't know why....
(only one sentense comes out)
TC_EM V3.1 PREPROCESSOR
chantingfai
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 10:10 am

Re: HELP:How To setup namelist for running Tc.exe?

Postby stenny » Wed Apr 22, 2009 3:48 am

hi chantingfai,
increase your debug level in namelist file,such as:

DEBUG_LEVEL = 10000

and you will get more information,good lucky!
stenny
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 2:19 am

Re: HELP:How To setup namelist for running Tc.exe?

Postby dcvz » Wed Apr 22, 2009 4:38 am

From test/em_real/README.namelist :

&tc ; controls for tc_em.exe ONLY, no impact on real, ndown, or model

insert_bogus_storm = .false. ; T/F for inserting a bogus tropical storm (TC)
remove_storm = .false. ; T/F for only removing the original TC
num_storm = 1 ; Number of bogus TC
latc_loc = -999. ; center latitude of the bogus TC
lonc_loc = -999. ; center longitude of the bogus TC
vmax_meters_per_second = -999. ; vmax of bogus storm in meters per second
rmax = -999. ; radius of maximum wind (meters)
vmax_ratio = -999. ; ratio for representative maximum winds, 0.75 for 45 km grid, and 0.9 for 15 km grid.

a specific example:

&tc
insert_bogus_storm = .true.
num_storm = 1
latc_loc = 22.5
lonc_loc = 113.2
vmax_meters_per_second = 45.
rmax = 90000.
vmax_ratio = 0.9


Documentation (sort of) is here: http://www.mmm.ucar.edu/mm5/mm5v3/tc-bogus.html
dcvz
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:02 am

Re: HELP:How To setup namelist for running Tc.exe?

Postby stenny » Wed Apr 22, 2009 9:25 pm

dcvz,
thanks!
i have set the namelist as you said,
but get the error message,

TC_EM V3.1 PREPROCESSOR
real_em: calling alloc_and_configure_domain
Floating point exception



how can i do?
stenny
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 2:19 am

Re: HELP:How To setup namelist for running Tc.exe?

Postby dcvz » Wed Apr 22, 2009 11:49 pm

The TC program has not been tested extensively (which is why is was 'silently' released). It would help to know the size of your domains, the machine architecture, compiler, amount of RAM, the compiler options you selected, and your namelist.input. I guess you can send that info to wrfhelp.

If you want to debug it, recompile tc_em using the -g option and run it with gdb in serial mode.
dcvz
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:02 am

Re: HELP:How To setup namelist for running Tc.exe?

Postby stenny » Fri Apr 24, 2009 1:50 am

dcvz,thanks

i have solved the previous problem by your suggestion,

and i have a new problem :?: ,
what is the "interesting temperature" in the following code,
and why do "stop" when t0 >400 ,

main/tc_em.F 1375-1380 line:
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
t0(i,j,k) = t1(i,j,k)-tpos(i,j,k)
t00(i,j,k) = t0(i,j,k)
if(t0(i,j,k) .gt. 400) then
print *,"interesting temperature ",t0(i,j,k)," at ",i,j,k
stop
end if
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
stenny
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 2:19 am

Re: HELP:How To setup namelist for running Tc.exe?

Postby Waniha Pascal » Fri May 01, 2009 1:23 am

It will be useful sometimes to give the explanation on how a certain problem was solved so as other user will also resolves their problem if they're encountering the same problem;
as myself I have also encountered the same problem on computer A everything work fine but on computer B this is what i Get;

TC_EM V3.1 PREPROCESSOR
Floating exception

both computer are using the same compiler the only different is A is 32-bit and B is 64 bit both running Redhat
Last edited by Waniha Pascal on Mon May 04, 2009 1:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
Waniha Pascal
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 7:02 pm

Re: HELP:How To setup namelist for running Tc.exe?

Postby dcvz » Fri May 01, 2009 3:21 am

stenny wrote:dcvz,thanks

and why do "stop" when t0 >400 ,



Because 400 degrees Kelvin is a temperature that shouldn't occur on Earth. Venus, maybe, but not Earth.
dcvz
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:02 am

Re: HELP:How To setup namelist for running Tc.exe?

Postby dcvz » Sat May 02, 2009 3:26 am

Waniha Pascal wrote:
TC_EM V3.1 PREPROCESSOR
Floating exception

both computer are using the same compiler the only different is A is 32-bit and B is 64 bit both running Redhat


I agree that it would be helpful for users to post their solutions...

As for this problem, I can reproduce the error on a 64-bit linux with PGI. I don't have a solution.

The workaround is to do a clean -a, then recompile wrf with the serial option. Then rename the tc.exe file, and then rebuild wrf with your desired mpi option. The serially-compiled tc_em is OK on the 64-bit machine.
dcvz
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:02 am

Next

Return to Runtime Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests