General troubleshooting for instability issues

Any issues with the actual running of the WRF.

General troubleshooting for instability issues

Postby donmorton » Wed Oct 07, 2009 2:28 pm

Hello,

I am a computer scientist (with numerical methods and HPC background) who pretends to know weather modeling with WRF. I have run into the following issue so many times that I thought I'd post a query about it. Often, as is the case right now, I'm doing this on a huge domain (2000x2000x45) on a busy supercomputer, so I don't have a lot of trial and error time. Sometimes I can "play" with a smaller domain at 1km resolution in the rugged region, just to gain insight, and then successfully apply my findings to the larger domain.

I'm often trying to run cases at 1km resolution (using 30s topography) in rugged regions like Montana and Alaska (more Alaska these days). I'll often initialize with FNL or NARR and, very frequently my run stops at whatever value I set for radt (or cudt, if I've forgotten to set cu_physics to 0. Although this "might" suggest issues with whatever LW/SW schemes I'm using (typically RRTM/Dudhia), I've often been told that the problem is more likely that those schemes are getting bad input. One knowledgeable person has suggested the problem likely comes in as the input data at coarse resolution is being scaled down to my grid, causing all sorts of instabilities (he mentioned, in particular, vertical velocities), in the midst of wildly varying terrain.