wrf simulation stops running without any error messages

Any issues with the actual running of the WRF.

wrf simulation stops running without any error messages

Postby ssangcarric » Tue Jan 17, 2017 8:59 pm

Dear All,

I am running a 5 days wrf.exe on a INTEL (E5-2690v3 2.6Ghz 12C x 2, it has 128GB memory ) machine with 96(3 member) & 72(2 member) core (total 5member is always running).
'real.exe' runs fine without any problems(I used GFS 50km data to make met_em* data).
'wrf.exe' runs all initialization just fine and begins the simulation. But it randomly stops(looks like freezing). The rsl.* log files do not show any errors, the simulation just simply stops and the job terminates on the cluster (also without any error messages).

Thanks for any input.

I have attached my namelist.input for your consideration.

Thank you



★ Namelist.input
&time_control
run_days = 0,
run_hours = 120,
run_minutes = 0,
run_seconds = 0,
start_year = 2017, 2017, 2017,
start_month = 01, 01, 01,
start_day = 17, 17, 17,
start_hour = 18, 18, 18,
start_minute = 00, 00, 00,
start_second = 00, 00, 00,
end_year = 2017, 2017, 2017,
end_month = 01, 01, 01,
end_day = 22, 22, 22,
end_hour = 18, 18, 18,
end_minute = 00, 00, 00,
end_second = 00, 00, 00,
interval_seconds = 10800
input_from_file = .true.,.true.,.true.,
history_interval = 60, 60, 60,
frames_per_outfile = 10000, 10000, 10000,
restart = .false.,
restart_interval = 5000,
io_form_history = 2
io_form_restart = 2
io_form_input = 2
io_form_boundary = 2
io_form_auxinput4 = 2
debug_level = 0
/

&domains
time_step = 90,
time_step_fract_num = 0,
time_step_fract_den = 1,
max_dom = 3,
e_we = 240, 241, 268,
e_sn = 180, 220, 268,
e_vert = 35, 35, 35,
eta_levels = 1.000, 0.993, 0.986, 0.978, 0.970,
0.960, 0.950, 0.940, 0.930, 0.920,
0.900, 0.880, 0.860, 0.830, 0.800,
0.770, 0.740, 0.710, 0.680, 0.640,
0.600, 0.560, 0.520, 0.480, 0.420,
0.360, 0.300, 0.240, 0.200, 0.160,
0.120, 0.080, 0.040, 0.020, 0.000
p_top_requested = 5000,
num_metgrid_levels = 32,
num_metgrid_soil_levels = 4,
dx = 27000, 9000, 3000,
dy = 27000, 9000, 3000,
grid_id = 1, 2, 3,
parent_id = 0, 1, 2,
i_parent_start = 1, 74, 88,
j_parent_start = 1, 58, 56,
parent_grid_ratio = 1, 3, 3,
parent_time_step_ratio = 1, 3, 3,
feedback = 1,
smooth_option = 0
/

&physics
mp_physics = 3, 3, 3,
ra_lw_physics = 1, 1, 1,
ra_sw_physics = 1, 1, 1,
radt = 30, 30, 30,
sf_sfclay_physics = 1, 1, 1,
sf_surface_physics = 2, 2, 2,
bl_pbl_physics = 1, 1, 1,
bldt = 0, 0, 0,
cu_physics = 1, 1, 0,
cudt = 5, 5, 5,
isfflx = 1,
ifsnow = 0,
icloud = 1,
surface_input_source = 1,
num_soil_layers = 4,
sf_urban_physics = 0,
maxiens = 1,
maxens = 3,
maxens2 = 3,
maxens3 = 16,
ensdim = 144,
num_land_cat = 24,
sst_update = 1,
/

&fdda
/

&dynamics
w_damping = 1,
diff_opt = 1,
km_opt = 4,
diff_6th_opt = 0, 0, 0,
diff_6th_factor = 0.12, 0.12, 0.12,
base_temp = 290.
iso_temp = 0.
damp_opt = 3,
zdamp = 5000., 5000., 5000.,
dampcoef = 0.2, 0.2, 0.2
khdif = 0, 0, 0,
kvdif = 0, 0, 0,
non_hydrostatic = .true., .true., .true.,
moist_adv_opt = 1, 1, 1,
scalar_adv_opt = 1, 1, 1,
/

&bdy_control
spec_bdy_width = 5,
spec_zone = 1,
relax_zone = 4,
specified = .true., .false.,.false.,
nested = .false., .true., .true.,
/

&grib2
/

&namelist_quilt
nio_tasks_per_group = 0,
nio_groups = 1,
/
ssangcarric
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 8:44 pm

Re: wrf simulation stops running without any error messages

Postby ram reddy » Sun Mar 12, 2017 2:20 pm

frames_per_outfile values must be 0 or 1000,
time step =162 (6*dx)
ram reddy
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 3:24 am

Re: wrf simulation stops running without any error messages

Postby dileepkunjaai » Mon Jul 01, 2019 11:54 pm

I also faced the same issue, but instead of time_step= dx*6, I put just lower value as "30", Then it completed the run.
dileepkunjaai
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2019 11:58 pm


Return to Runtime Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests