Error while running WPS with HRRR data

Any WPS problems/questions that might not fall into the other topics in this category

Error while running WPS with HRRR data

Postby VRavi » Fri May 19, 2017 2:32 pm

Hi,

I'm trying to run WRF with High Resolution Rapid Refresh (HRRR) data. HRRR forecast is available every hour for next 18 hours.
When I run WPS with 00Z forecast, I'm able to run WPS and WRF successfully. However, if I do the same with, say, 12Z forecast, wps fails. In particular, while ungrib.exe reads in all GRIBFILE.xxx files, it creates intermediate files for hours only on the start_date. Thus, say, for HRRR input of 2017/05/17 at 12z, I only get intermediate files till 23z of 2017/05/17, even though namelist.wps specifies correct start and end date. The namelist.wps file is pasted below:

Code: Select all
&share
 wrf_core = 'ARW',
 max_dom = 1,
 start_date = '2017-05-16-12:00:00','2006-08-16_12:00:00',
 end_date   = '2017-05-17-06:00:00','2006-08-16_12:00:00',
 interval_seconds = 3600
 io_form_geogrid = 2,
 debug_level = 1500
/

&geogrid
 parent_id         =   1,   1,
 parent_grid_ratio =   1,   3,
 i_parent_start    =   1,  31,
 j_parent_start    =   1,  17,
 e_we              =  285, 380,
 e_sn              =  258, 344,
 geog_data_res = 'default','default',
 dx = 4000,
 dy = 4000,
 map_proj = 'lambert',
 ref_lat   =  44.98,
 ref_lon   = -118.00,
 truelat1  =  30.0,
 truelat2  =  60.0,
 stand_lon = -121.0,

 geog_data_path = '/home/user_name/models/WRF3.8.1/BUILD/GEOG/'
/
&ungrib
 out_format = 'WPS',
 prefix = 'HRRR2WRF',
/

&metgrid
 fg_name = 'HRRR2WRF'
 io_form_metgrid = 2,
/


Any thoughts why I can't get WPS to process all 18 hours? I greatly appreciate any help on this.

Thanks,
Vikram
VRavi
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 2:09 pm

Re: Error while running WPS with HRRR data

Postby sanspace » Mon Jun 26, 2017 8:18 pm

Hi

I am also facing the issue in running WRF/WPS with HRRR data. I can run ungrib and metgrid, but the NUM_METGRID_SOIL_LEVELS in my metgrid output files (met_em.d01.*) are zero (NUM_METGRID_SOIL_LEVELS = 0). So I am facing issue in running real.exe.

Please tell me the value of NUM_METGRID_SOIL_LEVELS in your met_em.d01.* files. Also please tell me where I can find right vtable, possible please send you vtable to chanspace2020@gmail.com.

Thanks
sanspace
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2017 8:01 pm

Re: Error while running WPS with HRRR data

Postby VRavi » Mon Sep 11, 2017 9:34 pm

Hi,

Sorry that I didn't see this earlier. I have NUM_METGRID_SOIL_LEVELS = 9 in my met_em.d01.* files.
I've been using my own Vtable, but if you still haven't resolved the problem you can download newer WRF, v3.9.1 comes with Vtable that can be used for HRRR data (look for the following: Vtable.raphrrr).

Hope this solves the problem.

-Vikram
VRavi
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 2:09 pm


Return to Miscellaneous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron