tc.exe

Introduction to the forum

tc.exe

Postby nleonardo » Thu Jan 09, 2014 5:13 pm

To whom it may concern,
I am a first-time user of WRF. Specifically, I am using WRF-ARW v3.5 on cloud and am testing the tc.exe program to insert an arbitrary bogus vortex. Following Chapter 10 of the user's guide, I ran this program in the .../WRFV3/run directory using the command ./tc.exe on Linux, using a sample metgrid dataset (single domain, single time step) in the same directory. When I attempt to run it once, the following comes up:

*** The MPI_Comm_f2c() function was called before MPI_INIT was invoked.
*** Your MPI job will now abort.
[n0016:6168] Abort before MPI_INIT completed successfully; not able to guarantee that all other processes were killed!

The metgrid data is over the Eastern US./ western N. Atlantic for 1/9/2014 at 12z. The following is the namelist.input in the same directory:

&time_control
run_days = 0,
run_hours = 6,
run_minutes = 0,
run_seconds = 0,
start_year = 2014,
start_month = 01,
start_day = 09,
start_hour = 12,
start_minute = 00,
start_second = 00,
end_year = 2014,
end_month = 01,
end_day = 09,
end_hour = 18,
end_minute = 00,
end_second = 00,
interval_seconds = 21600
input_from_file = .true.,
history_interval = 360,
frames_per_outfile = 1,
restart = .false.,
restart_interval = 216000
io_form_history = 2
io_form_restart = 102
io_form_input = 2
io_form_boundary = 2
iofields_filename = "myoutfields.txt",
debug_level = 100
/

&domains
time_step = 72,
time_step_fract_num = 0,
time_step_fract_den = 1,
max_dom = 1,
e_we = 107,
e_sn = 107,
e_vert = 40,
eta_levels = 1.000, 0.995, 0.990, 0.985, 0.980,
0.975, 0.970, 0.965, 0.960, 0.950,
0.940, 0.930, 0.920, 0.910, 0.900,
0.880, 0.860, 0.830, 0.800, 0.770,
0.740, 0.710, 0.680, 0.640, 0.600,
0.560, 0.520, 0.480, 0.440, 0.400,
0.360, 0.320, 0.280, 0.240, 0.200,
0.160, 0.120, 0.080, 0.040, 0.000
p_top_requested = 10000,
num_metgrid_levels = 27,
num_metgrid_soil_levels = 4,
dx = 36000,
dy = 36000,
grid_id = 1,
parent_id = 1,
i_parent_start = 1,
j_parent_start = 1,
parent_grid_ratio = 1,
parent_time_step_ratio = 1,
feedback = 0,
smooth_option = 0,
/

&physics
mp_physics = 8,
ra_lw_physics = 1,
ra_sw_physics = 1,
radt = 30,
sf_sfclay_physics = 2,
sf_surface_physics = 2,
bl_pbl_physics = 2,
bldt = 0,
cu_physics = 2,
cudt = 5,
isfflx = 1,
ifsnow = 0,
icloud = 1,
surface_input_source = 1,
num_soil_layers = 4,
sf_urban_physics = 0,
maxiens = 1,
maxens = 3,
maxens2 = 3,
maxens3 = 16,
ensdim = 144,
do_radar_ref = 1,
/

&fdda
/

&dynamics
w_damping = 1,
diff_opt = 1,
km_opt = 4,
diff_6th_opt = 0,
diff_6th_factor = 0.12,
base_temp = 290.
damp_opt = 0,
zdamp = 5000.,
dampcoef = 0.2,
khdif = 0,
kvdif = 0,
non_hydrostatic = .true.,
moist_adv_opt = 1,
scalar_adv_opt = 1,
/

&bdy_control
spec_bdy_width = 5,
spec_zone = 1,
relax_zone = 4,
specified = .true.,
nested = .false.,
/

&grib2
/

&tc
insert_bogus_storm = .true.
remove_storm = .false.
num_storm = 1,
latc_loc = 25.0
lonc_loc = -75.0
vmax_meters_per_second = 61.7
rmax = 90000.0
vmax_ratio = 0.75
/

&namelist_quilt
nio_tasks_per_group = 0,
nio_groups = 1,
/


I am unsure as to where to go from here and would appreciate assistance from anyone. Thank you.
nleonardo
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 4:39 pm

Re: tc.exe

Postby nleonardo » Fri Jan 10, 2014 3:33 pm

I recompiled WRF to run in serial and, upon running tc.exe, I get some other error message (at least implying that the program is trying to run). It goes as follows:

Namelist logging not found in namelist.input. Using registry defaults for variables in logging.
Namelist logging not found in namelist.input. Using registry defaults for variables in logging.
Namelist dfi_control not found in namelist.input. Using registry defaults for variables in dfi_control
Namelist noah_mp not found in namelist.input. Using registry defaults for variables in noah_mp
Namelist scm not found in namelist.input. Using registry defaults for variables in scm
Namelist fire not found in namelist.input. Using registry defaults for variables in fire
Namelist diags not found in namelist.input. Using registry defaults for variables in diags
TC_EM V3.5.1 PREPROCESSOR
real_em: calling alloc_and_configure_domain
DYNAMICS OPTION: Eulerian Mass Coordinate
alloc_space_field: domain 1, 402301688 bytes allocated
setup_timekeeping: set xtime to 0.0000000E+00
setup_timekeeping: set julian to 8.500000
setup_timekeeping: returning...
d01 2014-01-09_12:00:00 tc_em: calling set_scalar_indices_from_config
d01 2014-01-09_12:00:00 tc_em: calling model_to_grid_config_rec
d01 2014-01-09_12:00:00 tc_em: calling init_wrfio
d01 2014-01-09_12:00:00 Entering ext_gr1_ioinit
d01 2014-01-09_12:00:00 calling tc_med_sidata_input
the start date char 2014-01-09_12:00:00
the end date char 2014-01-09_12:00:00

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Domain 1: Current date being processed: 2014-01-09_12:00:00.0000, which is loop # 1 out of 1
configflags%julyr, %julday, %gmt: 2014 9 12.00000
d01 2014-01-09_12:00:00 med_sidata_input: calling open_r_dataset for met_em.d<domain>.<date>
d01 2014-01-09_12:00:00 med_sidata_input: calling input_auxinput1
W A R N I N G : Problem opening myoutfields.txt
forrtl: severe (174): SIGSEGV, segmentation fault occurred
Image PC Routine Line Source
tc.exe 000000000046F00B Unknown Unknown Unknown
tc.exe 00000000004EC22A Unknown Unknown Unknown
tc.exe 0000000000C3DFEF Unknown Unknown Unknown
tc.exe 0000000000C17D49 Unknown Unknown Unknown
tc.exe 0000000000404EDF Unknown Unknown Unknown
tc.exe 000000000040411C Unknown Unknown Unknown
libc.so.6 000000346841ECDD Unknown Unknown Unknown
tc.exe 0000000000404019 Unknown Unknown Unknown


I surmise that the 1st several lines involving the namelist.input are not an issue, as they are automatically set to default settings. The end result is no output data in the directory (eg. no auxinput1_d01_<date>).
Assistance would be highly appreciated.
nleonardo
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 4:39 pm

Re: tc.exe

Postby nleonardo » Fri Jan 24, 2014 6:16 pm

New problem(s):
I managed to get around my previous problem, but are now faced with two questions/issues.
1.) tc.exe can be run with wrf (V4.1 or greater) compiled with nesting options enabled. Specifically, I am using 3 domains (1 parent, 2 nests) and want to insert a vortex in each domain. However, when I apply tc.exe to the 3 metgrid files for the initial time, it only processes the first domain (d01) and ignores the other two. Can this program be applied to more than one domain? If so, what changes do I have to make to the namelist.input? If not, is there a way of at least applying it to just the inner-most nest (d03)?

2.) As a test, I attempted to resolve the first part by renaming the metgrid files and namelist.input so that d03 is treated like d01, then renamed the output files back to the corresponding metgrid names (though I don't think that this is a good idea). These were derived from GEFS reanalysis data. However, when I attempt to run real.exe, I receive an error message stating that the number of metgrid soil levels must be greater than 1. ncdump of the original metgrid files reveals that they indeed have " NUM_METGRID_SOIL_LEVELS = 4 ," with each of the soil layer variables viewable (SM000010, SM01004, etc.).
Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
nleonardo
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 4:39 pm


Return to Welcome to the WRF User's Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests