Problem with soil moisture alternative dataset

Dataset specific topics involving WPS.

Problem with soil moisture alternative dataset

Postby capecchi » Mon Nov 11, 2013 10:21 am

Dear all,
I encountered the following problem when running metgrid.exe:
I have an alternative dataset for soil moisture 0-10 cm below ground, derived from the MetOp-ASCAT sensor. I wrote these data into the intermediate file format using the procedure suggested in the user's guide (http://www.mmm.ucar.edu/wrf/users/docs/user_guide_V3/users_guide_chap3.htm#_Writing_Meteorological_Data).
And here is the result of ./rd_intermediate.exe:
Code: Select all
================================================
FIELD = SM000010
UNITS = fraction DESCRIPTION = Soil Moist 0-10 cm below grn layer
DATE = 2010-07-01_00:00:00 FCST = 0.000000
SOURCE = NCEP GFS Analysis + ASCAT data
LEVEL = 200100.000000
I,J DIMS = 42, 41
IPROJ = 0  PROJECTION = LAT LON
  REF_X, REF_Y = 1.000000, 1.000000
  REF_LAT, REF_LON = 40.000000, 0.000000
  DLAT, DLON = 0.500000, 0.500000
  EARTH_RADIUS = 6371.229492
DATA(1,1)=1.000000

 SUCCESSFUL COMPLETION OF PROGRAM RD_INTERMEDIATE


As initial and boundary conditions I'm using the GFS data and I successfully ran the ungrib.exe with such data (prefix name is 'FILE_gfs').

Now, when running metgrid.exe I want to use the 0-10 cm soil moisture derived from MetOp-ASCAT sensor (fg_name is 'SMOIS') and the 0-10 cm soil moisture derived from GFS (fg_name is 'FILE_gfs') in a larger region containing the one covered by the 'SMOIS' data.
I followed the instructions provided in the WPS_advanced presentation (http://www.mmm.ucar.edu/wrf/users/tutorial/201001/WPS-advanced.pdf), so I modified the namelist.wps with
Code: Select all
&metgrid
 fg_name = 'FILE_gfs','SMOIS',

and I created two entries in METGRID.TBL, specifically:
Code: Select all
========================================
name=SM000010; from_input=SMOIS
        interp_option=sixteen_pt+four_pt+wt_average_4pt+wt_average_16pt+search
        masked=water
        interp_mask=LANDSEA(0)
        missing_value=1.000
        fill_missing=1.
        flag_in_output=FLAG_SM000010
========================================
name=SM000010; from_input=FILE_gfs
        interp_option=sixteen_pt+four_pt+average_4pt+search
        masked=water
        interp_mask=LANDSEA(0)
        missing_value=-1.E30
        fill_missing=1.
        flag_in_output=FLAG_SM000010

This because the missing_value in the SMOIS data is 1.000

Nevertheless it seems that the metgrid.exe processes only the FILE_gfs and ignores the SMOIS data. In fact no differences were found when running metgrid.exe with the above mentioned settings and when running the metgrid.exe with just:
Code: Select all
&metgrid
 fg_name = 'FILE_gfs',
in the namelist.wps.....

Any suggestions?
Thanks for your help, Valerio
capecchi
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 10:10 am

Re: Problem with soil moisture alternative dataset

Postby mduda » Tue Nov 12, 2013 2:40 pm

Hi, Valerio.

I think the problem may be the use of the 'interp_mask' flag in your METGRID.TBL entry for the new SM000010 field. The issue is that the field specified (LANDSEA) must be on the same grid as the data that it is masking, and in your case, the new SM000010 field has 42x41 points while the LANDSEA field has 720x361 (assuming 0.5-degree GFS).

Simply removing the 'interp_mask' option in your new METGRID.TBL entry and ensuring that the 'missing_value' matches the value used in your data over water points should help.

Do you get correct results when using the following entry?

Code: Select all
========================================
name=SM000010; from_input=SMOIS
        interp_option=sixteen_pt+four_pt+wt_average_4pt+wt_average_16pt+search
        masked=water
        missing_value=1.0
        fill_missing=1.0
        flag_in_output=FLAG_SM000010
========================================


If you run into any other problems, please don't hesitate to let me know.

Best regards,
Michael
mduda
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 2:26 pm

Re: Problem with soil moisture alternative dataset

Postby ehsantaghizadeh » Mon Jun 24, 2019 7:30 am

Dears,
May I ask which this issue has been solved?
I have a same problem with SMOPS data and I'll be thankful for any help.
SMOPS data are 0-5 cm soil moisture. However, do you think could I use attached Vtables.

I hope to hear from you.
Sincerely
Ehsan
ehsantaghizadeh
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2015 11:26 am


Return to Working with Various Datasets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest