Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Dataset specific topics involving WPS.

Re: Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Postby jan » Wed May 01, 2013 3:45 pm

The number of model levels do not have to be the same as the number of levels in your forcing data. The level height will be different anyway, since the levels in WRF are terrain following. Your input data will be interpolated to the model levels in WRF. Does this answer your question?
jan
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 3:48 am
Location: Kiel, Germany, GEOMAR

Re: Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Postby miklosera » Thu May 02, 2013 9:46 am

Thanks.
I got another answer and that said if I use pressure leveles I don't even need the coeffs. I'd just need that if I would use the sigma levels.
miklosera
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 2:08 pm

Re: Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Postby prohu » Tue Jun 04, 2013 6:12 am

Hi guys,
ttill not understood from your posts whether from the ECMWF website it is possible to download ERA-INTERIM data at 0.7 degrees and not at 1.5 as written somewhere.

Many thanks,

Prohu
prohu
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 6:09 am

Re: Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Postby Eowyn » Tue Jul 16, 2013 6:26 pm

Hi all,

Thanks for all the contributions to this thread to date. It helped me navigate the model vs pressure level issue, , get ungrib and metgrid working, and determine that calc_ecmwf_..exe wasn't necessary if you use pressure levels. All good things.

I'm using pressure-level data, my Vtable is Vtable.ECMWF

Now, real.exe is failing with:
Missing surface temp, replaced with closest level, use_surface set to false.
Missing surface u wind, replaced with closest level, use_surface set to false.
Missing surface v wind, replaced with closest level, use_surface set to false.
PGFIO-F-219/formatted write/internal file/attempt to read/write past end of record.
In source file ../dyn_em/module_initialize_real.f90, at line number 1020

My intermediate files have TT,UU,VV at 1000hPa. So how do I get ungrib to set the surface temp, surface u wind, etc variables? I have a feeling it is in the Vtable but I don't have any experience messing with those.

Thanks in advance,
Eowyn

Update: I was able to modify METGRID.TBL to use the 1000hPa values as the surface values by following this advice from an old FAQ:
Q . If my input data has no surface information, how can I fill the surface level data with the lowest model level data?
A. If your input data does not have any surface fields (e.g. 2 m T, 10m U, V, etc.), you can simply edit metgrid/METGRID.TBL, and add a line like the following for TT, QV, UU and VV:

fill_lev=200100:TT(X)

where X will be the number of the lowest model level in your input data. For example, you can set
fill_lev=200100:TT(100000)

In this example, 1000mb temperature is filled in as surface temperature. In program REAL, you should then set use_surface = .false.


>>> Real still crashes, but for some other reason. I will edit this post if/when I solve that. EDIT 2: Fixed! I used this solution (in which a block of text is added to rrpr.f90 in ugrib/src/):
viewtopic.php?f=22&t=3747&p=16075&hilit=PSFC#p16075
Eowyn
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 1:39 pm

Re: Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Postby javier.p » Tue Sep 10, 2013 12:13 pm

Dear user;

I am trying to run the WRF with pressure levels ERA-Interim daily Dataset.
I have been able to run the majority of the process (geogrid.exe, ungrib.exe,metgrid.exe, real.exe) but when I run ./wrf.exe I always obtain "segmentation fault" in a small amount of iterations.
I using the MYNN2.5 PBL scheme in a simulation with 4 domains with resolutions: 81,27,9 and 3 km.
The time_step that I usually use in this kind of simulations is always 360 and when I find convergence problems I use to low it until 135. I have tried many time steps to solve my convergence problems but no success. In all cases I always obtain "segmentation fault".

Could someone please help me to find the configuration in the namelist.input to run WRF with ERA-Interim?

The fields of ERA-Interim which I using are the following:
Rprs 37 157,100,0 ** (profile) Relative humidity [%]
Tprs 37 130,100,0 ** (profile) Temperature [K]
Uprs 37 131,100,0 ** (profile) U velocity [m s**-1]
Vprs 37 132,100,0 ** (profile) V velocity [m s**-1]
Zprs 37 129,100,0 ** (profile) Geopotential [m**2 s**-2]
no10Usfc 0 165,1,0 ** surface 10 metre U wind component [m s**-1]
no10Vsfc 0 166,1,0 ** surface 10 metre V wind component [m s**-1]
no2Dsfc 0 168,1,0 ** surface 2 metre dewpoint temperature [K]
no2Tsfc 0 167,1,0 ** surface 2 metre temperature [K]
CIsfc 0 31,1,0 ** surface Sea-ice cover [(0 - 1)]
MSLsfc 0 151,1,0 ** surface Mean sea level pressure [Pa]
RSNsfc 0 33,1,0 ** surface Snow density [kg m**-3]
SDsfc 0 141,1,0 ** surface Snow depth [m of water equivalent]
SKTsfc 0 235,1,0 ** surface Skin temperature [K]
SPsfc 0 134,1,0 ** surface Surface pressure [Pa]
SRsfc 0 173,1,0 ** surface Surface roughness [m]
SSTKsfc 0 34,1,0 ** surface Sea surface temperature [K]
STL10_7cm 0 139,112,7 ** 0-7 cm underground Soil temperature level 1 [K]
STL27_28cm 0 170,112,1820 ** 7-28 cm underground Soil temperature level 2 [K]
STL328_100cm 0 183,112,7268 ** 28-100 cm underground Soil temperature level 3 [K]
STL4100_255cm 0 236,112,25855 ** 100-255 cm underground Soil temperature level 4 [K]
SWVL10_7cm 0 39,112,7 ** 0-7 cm underground Volumetric soil water layer 1 [m**3 m**-3]
SWVL27_28cm 0 40,112,1820 ** 7-28 cm underground Volumetric soil water layer 2 [m**3 m**-3]
SWVL328_100cm 0 41,112,7268 ** 28-100 cm underground Volumetric soil water layer 3 [m**3 m**-3]
SWVL4100_255cm 0 42,112,25855 ** 100-255 cm underground Volumetric soil water layer 4 [m**3 m**-3]
LSMsfc 0 172,1,0 ** surface Land-sea mask [(0 - 1)]
Zsfc 0 129,1,0 ** surface Geopotential [m**2 s**-2]

Maybe, is it need to use any field more?

Thank you very much in advanced for your help.

Best regards,
Javier Peña
javier.p
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 5:33 am

Re: Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Postby synoptic » Tue Nov 19, 2013 3:51 am

edelweiss wrote:I run WRF several times with ERA-Interim data without any change in Vtable. But I remember that some fields have different names in ERA-Interim. Then you must choose at least Pressure level and Surface data.My basic fields are :

10 m U wind component
10 m V wind component
2 m temperature
2 m Dewpoint temp
Geopotantial
Land-sea mask
Mean Sea Level Pressure
Pressure
Relative Humidity
Sea Surface Temperature
Sea Ice Cover
Skin Temperature
Soil Temperature level 1-2-3-4
Surface Geopotantial
Surface Pressure
Temperature
V velocity
U velocity
Volumetric Soil Water Layer 1-2-3-4


Hi,edelweiss
You said that you had successfully conducted the WRF run using ERA-I data without any change in Vtable. I notice that there are several Vtables in WRF for ERA data source and I wonder which one you choose for your experiment. Also ERA-I are separated into pressure level, surface and invariant variables, shall we excute ungrib individually for these three parts? It will be highly appreciated if it is possible for you to share your experience with me! Thank you so much!

Yangyang
synoptic
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 3:12 am

Re: Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Postby aling119 » Tue Feb 11, 2014 10:02 pm

Hi every one,
I found something useful for running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim data.
Here is the link:
http://www.geomar.de/mitarbeiter/fb1/me ... /wrf/erai/

The Vtable I used was Vtable.ECMWF
I downloaded surface data and time invariant data(land-sea mask and geopotential),The time invarient data's date was 1989-01-01-12:00

1)Ungrib them separately

for surface data:
&ungrib
prefix='FILE'

for time invariant data:
&ungrib
prefix='FIX'
'
2)Berfore metgrid, modified the namelist.wps
& metgrid
fg_name='FILE'
constants_name='FIX:1989-01-01-12'

3)Metgrid
aling119
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 5:41 am

Re: Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Postby Meriem Deli » Thu Jun 11, 2015 7:42 am

Hi,
I am running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset, I am using the Vtable.ERA-interim.pl, I run geogrid, ungrib and metgrid, everything goes well and I obtain met_em files but when I run real, I get this error message:

ERROR in psfc: flag_psfc = 0, flag_soilhgt = 0, flag_slp = 0, sfcp_to_sfcp = F
-------------- FATAL CALLED ---------------
FATAL CALLED FROM FILE: <stdin> LINE: 1081
not enough info for a p sfc computation


I think I have downloaded the wrong data from ERA-interim web site. Could anyone help me please, Thanks,
Meriem Deli
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 1:54 pm

Re: Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Postby alainaketh » Thu Jun 30, 2016 7:20 am

Hi everyone. I have successfully run a simulation using ERA-Interim data. Here are the steps:

1) Download data from http://rda.ucar.edu/datasets/ds627.0/#!description and go to "Data Access" tab at the top of the page. Please note that you need to register first in order to download the data. You are going to download pressure and surface information. Once you can access to this dataset, select the following options:
- ERA Interim atmospheric model analysis interpolated to pressure levels > Request Access
- ERA Interim atmospheric model analysis for surface > Request Access.
Be sure to download ALL the files correspondent to the dates in your simulation. Example:
I am simulating 13th January 2012 00:00-12:00.
- ERA Interim atmospheric model analysis interpolated to pressure levels > Files downloaded:
@ ei.oper.an.pl.regn128sc.2012011300
@ ei.oper.an.pl.regn128uv.2012011300
@ ei.oper.an.pl.regn128sc.2012011306
@ ei.oper.an.pl.regn128uv.2012011306
@ ei.oper.an.pl.regn128sc.2012011312
@ ei.oper.an.pl.regn128uv.2012011312

- ERA Interim atmospheric model analysis for surface > Files downloaded:
@ ei.oper.an.sfc.regn128sc.2012011300
@ ei.oper.an.sfc.regn128sc.2012011306
@ ei.oper.an.sfc.regn128sc.2012011312

This means that in your namelist.wps you should have:
&share
interval_seconds = 21600,

Vtable used is Vtable.ECMWF

2) run geogrid.
For the pressure data:
3) Type:
./link_grib.csh ../DATA/ei.oper.an.pl*
To link the GRIBFILEs to the pressure data.
4) Modify namelist.wps as follows:
&ungrib
out_format = 'WPS',
prefix = 'PRESS'
5) Run ungrib.
6) Erase the GRIBFILEs
Now repeat steps 3-5 for the surface data.
3b) Type:
./link_grib.csh ../DATA/ei.oper.an.sfc*
To link the GRIBFILEs to the surface data.
4b) Modify namelist.wps as follows:
&ungrib
out_format = 'WPS',
prefix = 'SFC'
5b) Run ungrib.

Now you have a nice set of PRESS:YYYY-MM-DD and SFC:YYY-MM-DD files.

7) Edit namelist.wps as follows:
&metgrid
fg_name = 'SFC','PRESS'
io_form_metgrid = 2
/
8) Run metgrid.

And that's it. Now the problem is that the model yields ridiculously low values of rainfall compared to those obtained using NCEP FNL initial conditions. Could someone tell me why?

Cheers,

Alaina.

EDIT: WRF keeps running happily with ECMWF data but the rainfall I obtain is still way lower than what I expect. I've noticed that when I run ungrib, the highest level at which ungrib calculates all the meteorological fields is 1000, whereas when I use NCEP data it can go up until 2013.

ungrib.log using NCEP dataset ds083.2:
PRES TT UU VV RH HGT PSFC PMSL
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2013.0 O O O O O O X O
2001.0 X X X X O X O X
1000.0 X X X X X

ungrib.log using ECMWF data:
PRES GEOPT HGT TT UU VV RH
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1000.0 X X X X X
975.0 X X X X X
950.0 X X X X X

Somebody has any ideas?

* * * * * * * *
EDIT AND SOLVED:

Check my post: viewtopic.php?p=26482#p26482
Hydrology Researcher, University of Bristol
alainaketh
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 12:30 pm

Re: Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Postby Mercedes » Tue Apr 10, 2018 3:33 am

The above mentioned solution worked out well for me. Thank you for posting it.

You have to download ERA Interim boundary conditions for both the surface and pressure levels, and then treat them following the instructions posted above.
Mercedes
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 1:30 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Working with Various Datasets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests