Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Dataset specific topics involving WPS.

Re: Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Postby jan » Mon Jan 21, 2013 5:26 am

The registration at ECMWF is very easy and has to be done, before downloading the data. E.g. here: http://data-portal.ecmwf.int/data/d/interim_full_daily/
jan
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 3:48 am
Location: Kiel, Germany, GEOMAR

Re: Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Postby omar » Tue Jan 22, 2013 11:55 am

Thank you for your answer, are the data downloaded from the data portal the same as the one you get with the downloding scripts?

I ve already downloaded data from the website, all procees goes well (ie ungrib, metrgid real) but wrf.exe always crashes without any output!
omar
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 1:25 pm

Re: Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Postby jan » Wed Jan 23, 2013 9:25 am

are the data downloaded from the data portal the same as the one you get with the downloding scripts?
Yes.
jan
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 3:48 am
Location: Kiel, Germany, GEOMAR

Re: Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Postby omar » Wed Jan 23, 2013 10:39 am

Have you ever faced this issue before, I mean wrf.exe immediately crashing without any output?
omar
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 1:25 pm

Re: Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Postby jan » Thu Jan 24, 2013 4:41 am

This is a topic for another thread. But it sounds like that the cfl criterion is violated right in the beginning. Try reducing your time step.
jan
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 3:48 am
Location: Kiel, Germany, GEOMAR

Re: Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Postby omar » Wed Jan 30, 2013 7:54 am

In fact this problem occurs only with ERA data, with the same run configuration i was able to do runs with NCEP and GFS but when it comes to ERA i get this strange bug.
omar
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 1:25 pm

Re: Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Postby bob.bobb » Sun Apr 07, 2013 6:40 pm

Hello everyone,

I am currently trying to use ERA-interim data as input for WRF. I am encountering a problem that others already mentioned (in slightly different way), but none of the suggested solutions work for me.

What I do:
1. ungrib the downloaded data
2. run calc_ecmwf_p.exe to produce the PRES-files. it says here: "WARNING: Either TT or SPECHUMD not found. No RH will be computed." So I presumably only have RH-values for ground level, right? Is this a problem?
3. Run metgrid. No errors here. When checking the met_em-files, they look ok (as far as I can tell...)
4. Run real. It crashes, no matter what I try. The rsl.out looks like:

Code: Select all
Domain  1: Current date being processed: 2010-01-01_00:00:00.0000, which is loop #   1 out of   53
 configflags%julyr, %julday, %gmt:        2010           1   0.0000000   
 metgrid input_wrf.F first_date_input = 2010-01-01_00:00:00
  metgrid input_wrf.F first_date_nml = 2010-01-01_00:00:00
 d01 2010-01-01_00:00:00 Timing for input          0 s.
 d01 2010-01-01_00:00:00          flag_soil_layers read from met_em file is  1
 Max map factor in domain 1 =  2.16. Scale the dt in the model accordingly.
 i,j =            1           1
 target pressure and value =              NaN  7.13258910E-28
 column of pressure and value =              NaN   0.0000000   
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =              NaN             NaN
 column of pressure and value =    2.3025851                 NaN
 -------------- FATAL CALLED ---------------
 FATAL CALLED FROM FILE:  <stdin>  LINE:    3715
 troubles, could not find trapping x locations
 -------------------------------------------


My namelist.input (part of it) is:

Code: Select all
&domains
 time_step                           = 120,
 time_step_fract_num                 = 0,
 time_step_fract_den                 = 1,
 max_dom                             = 2,
 e_we                                =  94,82,37,31
 e_sn                                =  94,103,37,31
 e_vert                              = 46,    46,    46,  46,
 eta_levels   = 1.0000, 0.9970, 0.9940, 0.9910,
                0.9880, 0.9850, 0.9820,
                0.9790, 0.9742, 0.9675,
                0.9596, 0.9505,
                0.9399, 0.9269, 0.9115,
                0.8937, 0.8735,
                0.8460, 0.8300, 0.8120, 0.7920,
                0.7680, 0.7360, 0.7020, 0.6660, 0.6290,
                0.5915, 0.5536, 0.5153, 0.4773, 0.4400,
                0.4040, 0.3695, 0.3375, 0.3085, 0.2645,
                0.2305, 0.2035, 0.1792, 0.1539, 0.1272,
                0.0995, 0.0713, 0.0429, 0.0145, 0.0000,
 p_top_requested                     = 5000,
 num_metgrid_levels                  = 61,
 num_metgrid_soil_levels             = 4,
 sfcp_top_sfcp                       = .true.,
 dx                                  = 45000, 15000,  3000, 1000,
 dy                                  = 45000, 15000,  3000, 1000,
 grid_id                             = 1,     2,     3,  4,
 parent_id                           = 0,     1,     2,  3,
 i_parent_start                      =   1,34,36,11,
 j_parent_start                      =   1,26,16,13,
 parent_grid_ratio                   = 1,     3,     3,  3,
 parent_time_step_ratio              = 1,     3,     4,  5,
 feedback                            = 1,
 smooth_option                       = 1


My questions:

1. The fact that all pressures in the rsl.out are NaN seems to be a problem... how can I solve this? Does this explain my "could not find trappings"-error later?
2. People in this thread keep talking about using "pressure levels" or "model levels"... what is the difference? Could using the other way (I don't even know which way I am using) solve my problem?
3. Should I also adjust the e_vert and eta_levels to the 60 levels I have in the ERA-interim data? Does that change anything concerning my problem?

I have already played around with p_top_requested and sfcp_top_sfcp like suggested by other people, but that didn't help, unfortunately.

I would really appreciate your inputs, since I am really stuck at this point right now.

Thanks a lot!
bob.bobb
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2013 7:47 am

Re: Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Postby jan » Mon Apr 08, 2013 7:05 am

You should fix your warning
WARNING: Either TT or SPECHUMD not found. No RH will be computed.

There is a part In the upper left corner of the website of ECMWF: http://data-portal.ecmwf.int/data/d/interim_full_daily/ where you can select pressure or model levels. I would recommend to use pressure levels, since the reference to a pressure level is well known, which does not hold for a model level. This varies from model to model. Make sure you also download TT or SPECHUMD.
I think the most, or even all, warning will then disappear.
jan
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 3:48 am
Location: Kiel, Germany, GEOMAR

Re: Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Postby bob.bobb » Sat Apr 13, 2013 4:42 pm

Thanks Jan,

your post gave me the correct hint to my misunderstanding. I hadn't realized that I had only downloaded the "surface" data from the ECWMF site. After I also downloaded the data for all "pressure levels" and put surface- and pressure-level-files in one folder, it finally worked.

One remark from my side to others having problems: I had to download the pressure-level-data on a Gaussian grid (I used N256), because ungrib wouldn't accept any others. The surface data however I could feed in on a "normal" grid... weird, but as long as it works, I will not complain :lol: .

Thanks again Jan for giving me the tip.
bob.bobb
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2013 7:47 am

Re: Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Postby miklosera » Wed May 01, 2013 6:48 am

Hi everyone,
I'm trying to run the model with interim data as well, tho I'm a little bit stucked.
My question would be about the ecmwf_coeffs. So I downloaded the ECMWF data for all pressure levels (37) and for the surface...I was planning to run the model on 27 levels. Can I do that? Or it has to be one of this?
http://www.ecmwf.int/products/data/tech ... index.html
All the best,
Erika
miklosera
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 2:08 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Working with Various Datasets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests