Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Dataset specific topics involving WPS.

Re: Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Postby marcelcure » Wed Aug 08, 2012 7:55 am

Hi,

I was wondering if anyone could get metgrid to work with ERA-Interim. As far as I can see, grid 128 is a Gaussian grid. I get an error :-

ERROR: Gaussian_latitude_computation

This happens at the first time step.

I'm using WPSV3.4_r675

In anticipation,

Thanks.
marcelcure
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 7:50 am

Re: Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Postby sdk » Wed Oct 03, 2012 9:08 am

Hi Alex,
can you send me your downloading script?

Regards,
SK

AlexFr wrote:Hi,

I know this error quite well!
If you read the edit of my previous post, you will see that you need to extract the ECMWF data on a Gaussian grid for ungrib to work.
The Unknown ksec2(4): 50 error means that you extract value on a spherical harmonic grid.
I don't know how you download your ERA files but add
Code: Select all
"grid" = "160"
in your request namelist and everything should be just fine.

By the way, yes I use pressure level because and did not succeed in using model level (real.exe crashes).

Alex
sdk
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 1:18 am

Re: Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Postby dwzhangt » Mon Oct 22, 2012 10:39 pm

SXM wrote:Hello,

Although I am quite new to WRF, but I need to use ECMWF-interim data for WRF running.

My question is
1. It looks like the ECMWF-interim data (http://data-portal.ecmwf.int/data/d/interim_daily/) need to be processed before can be used to WRF. Is here any one did it before and would like to share experiences with me? Thanks!
2. Need I change the Vtable for the ECMWF-interim or just keep using the default ECMWF Vtable in the WRF release?

Thanks in advance for any reply!

Best,

SXM

hi I have the same problem now,did you soved this,I need you help now. if the data need to be processed,how to do it.
dwzhangt
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 10:07 pm

Re: Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Postby sdk » Tue Oct 23, 2012 7:03 am

I did the following and it is work for me:
1) download the DataServer_0_1.pm form ECMWF website

2) download atmosphere data with the following script (use your email and token xxxxxxx) from the same directory where is the DataServer perl script:

#!/usr/bin/perl -I/home/skyka/data
use ECMWF::DataServer_0_1;
use Date::Pcalc qw(Add_Delta_Days Delta_Days);
no strict;

my $client = ECMWF::DataServer->new(
portal => 'http://data-portal.ecmwf.int/data/d/dataserver/',
token => 'xxxxxx',
email => 'xxxxxx',
);

@date = (2012,06,01);
@enddate = (2012,06,30);

while (Delta_Days(@date,@enddate) >= 0)
{
$year = @date[0];
$month = @date[1];
$day = @date[2];
$datestr=sprintf("%d-%02d-%02d",$year,$month,$day);
$client->retrieve(
dataset => "interim_full_daily",
date => "$datestr",
time => "00/06/12/18",
step => "0",
levtype => "pl",
levelist => "all",
type => "an",
grid => "128",
param => "129/130/131/132/157",
target => "pl_${datestr}.grb",
);
# move to next day
($year,$month,$day) = Add_Delta_Days($year,$month,$day,1);
@date=($year,$month,$day)
}

3) download the surface data with:
#!/usr/bin/perl -I/home/skyka/data
use ECMWF::DataServer_0_1;
use Date::Pcalc qw(Add_Delta_Days Delta_Days);
no strict;

my $client = ECMWF::DataServer->new(
portal => 'http://data-portal.ecmwf.int/data/d/dataserver/',
token => 'xxxxxxxx',
email => 'xxxxxxxx',
);

@date = (2012,06,01);
@enddate = (2012,06,20);

while (Delta_Days(@date,@enddate) >= 0)
{
$year = @date[0];
$month = @date[1];
$day = @date[2];
$datestr=sprintf("%d-%02d-%02d",$year,$month,$day);
$client->retrieve(
dataset => "interim_full_daily",
date => "$datestr",
time => "00/06/12/18",
step => "0",
levtype => "sfc",
type => "an",
grid => "128",
param => "172/134/151/165/166/167/168/235/33/34/31/141/139/170/183/236/39/40/41/42",
target => "sfc_${datestr}.grb",
);
# move to next day
($year,$month,$day) = Add_Delta_Days($year,$month,$day,1);
@date=($year,$month,$day)
}

4) run ungrib with the following Vtables for atmospheric and surface daat
Vtable.ECATM
GRIB | Level| Level| Level| metgrid | metgrid | metgrid |
Code | Code | 1 | 2 | Name | Units | Description |
-----+------+------+------+----------+----------+------------------------------------------+
129 | 100 | * | | GEOPT | m2 s-2 | |
| 100 | * | | HGT | m | Height |
130 | 100 | * | | TT | K | Temperature |
131 | 100 | * | | UU | m s-1 | U |
132 | 100 | * | | VV | m s-1 | V |
157 | 100 | * | | RH | % | Relative Humidity |
-----+------+------+------+----------+----------+------------------------------------------+
#
# For use with ERA-interim pressure-level output.
#
# Grib codes are from Table 128
# http://www.ecmwf.int/services/archive/d ... table=128/
#
# snow depth is converted to the proper units in rrpr.F
#
# For ERA-interim data at NCAR, use the pl (sc and uv) and sfc sc files.

Vtable.ECSFC
GRIB | Level| Level| Level| metgrid | metgrid | metgrid |
Code | Code | 1 | 2 | Name | Units | Description |
-----+------+------+------+----------+----------+------------------------------------------+
165 | 1 | 0 | | UU | m s-1 | U | At 10 m
166 | 1 | 0 | | VV | m s-1 | V | At 10 m
167 | 1 | 0 | | TT | K | Temperature | At 2 m
168 | 1 | 0 | | DEWPT | K | | At 2 m
| 1 | 0 | | RH | % | Relative Humidity | At 2 m
172 | 1 | 0 | | LANDSEA | 0/1 Flag | Land/Sea flag |
129 | 1 | 0 | | SOILGEO | m2 s-2 | |
| 1 | 0 | | SOILHGT | m | Terrain field of source analysis |
134 | 1 | 0 | | PSFC | Pa | Surface Pressure |
151 | 1 | 0 | | PMSL | Pa | Sea-level Pressure |
235 | 1 | 0 | | SKINTEMP | K | Sea-Surface Temperature |
31 | 1 | 0 | | SEAICE | fraction | Sea-Ice Fraction |
34 | 1 | 0 | | SST | K | Sea-Surface Temperature |
33 | 1 | 0 | | SNOW_DEN | kg m-3 | |
141 | 1 | 0 | | SNOW_EC | m | |
| 1 | 0 | | SNOW | kg m-2 |Water Equivalent of Accumulated Snow Depth|
| 1 | 0 | | SNOWH | m | Physical Snow Depth |
139 | 112 | 0 | 7 | ST000007 | K | T of 0-7 cm ground layer |
170 | 112 | 7 | 28 | ST007028 | K | T of 7-28 cm ground layer |
183 | 112 | 28 | 100 | ST028100 | K | T of 28-100 cm ground layer |
236 | 112 | 100 | 255 | ST100255 | K | T of 100-255 cm ground layer |
39 | 112 | 0 | 7 | SM000007 | m3 m-3 | Soil moisture of 0-7 cm ground layer |
40 | 112 | 7 | 28 | SM007028 | m3 m-3 | Soil moisture of 7-28 cm ground layer |
41 | 112 | 28 | 100 | SM028100 | m3 m-3 | Soil moisture of 28-100 cm ground layer |
42 | 112 | 100 | 255 | SM100255 | m3 m-3 | Soil moisture of 100-255 cm ground layer |
-----+------+------+------+----------+----------+------------------------------------------+
#
# For use with ERA-interim pressure-level output.
#
# Grib codes are from Table 128
# http://www.ecmwf.int/services/archive/d ... table=128/
#
# snow depth is converted to the proper units in rrpr.F
#
# For ERA-interim data at NCAR, use the pl (sc and uv) and sfc sc files.


I hope it helps.
SK
sdk
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 1:18 am

Re: Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Postby jan » Tue Oct 23, 2012 7:42 am

Or check out my little website for ERA-Interim data and WRF: http://www.geomar.de/index.php?id=2211
jan
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 3:48 am
Location: Kiel, Germany, GEOMAR

Re: Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Postby anu » Fri Jan 04, 2013 12:47 am

Hi..
I want to input GCM data into WRF-NMM. Downloading via the DKRZ, is not working because they have the data seperated in variables and not in time-steps. how can i change it into WRF acceptable intermediate format...
anu
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 12:40 am

Re: Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Postby jan » Fri Jan 04, 2013 5:37 am

You can use WGRIB for that purpose:
http://www.cpc.ncep.noaa.gov/products/wesley/wgrib.html
At there ftp-server (ftp://ftp.cpc.ncep.noaa.gov/wd51we/wgrib.scripts/) are 2 files:
ts2synopic and synoptic2ts, which can reorder your data from/to:
I) time step ordered: var1(t1),var1(t2),var2(t1),var2(t2)
II) varable ordered: var1(t1),var2(t1),var1(t2),var2(t2)
jan
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 3:48 am
Location: Kiel, Germany, GEOMAR

Re: Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Postby anu » Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:53 am

cant find synoptic2ts file and thats wat exactly i need,,,,,, different variables for same time step to be concatenated in a single grib file... help
anu
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 12:40 am

Re: Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Postby jan » Mon Jan 07, 2013 4:00 am

ts2synopic.doc explains how to do it. You have to change the lines in your document on your own, which is fairly easy (1 or 2 lines). This is my synoptic2ts file:
Code: Select all
#                                            4/95 Wesley Ebisuzaki
# takes a number of grib time series and make synoptic order file
#  (grads compatible)
#
# grads wants:
# loop by time
#   loop by variable
#     loop by pressure
#       read/write data
#     end loop
#   end loop
# end loop
#
# needs POSIX sort command
# needs wgrib
# TMPDIR = directory for tmp files
# two versions (increasing/decreasing) levels
#
# v1.1 fix bug .. 10m was between 20 mb and 10 mb
#                 new sorting pattern
# v1.2 fix bug introduced by v1.1
#
WGRIB=/gfs1/work/shkjanha/software/wgrib/wgrib
tmp=$TMPDIR/junk.$$
tmp=/gfs2/work/shkjanha/data/ERA-interim/tmp/junk.$LOGNAME..$$
set -u

if [ $# -lt 2 ] ; then
   echo "v1.2 takes grib time series -> synoptic order file"
   echo "usage: $0 (timeseries wild-card) (output file) (rev)"
   echo "wild card must be in quotes!"
   echo "use rev for theta coordinates"
   exit 8
fi
rev=${3:-NO}
echo 'rev '$rev

cat `ls $1` >$tmp

if [ $rev = rev ] ; then
  $WGRIB -4yr $tmp | sed 's/kpds7=//' | sort -t: -k4,4 -k6,6 -k7n,7 -k3,3 | $WGRIB -i -s -
grib $tmp -o $2
else
  $WGRIB -4yr $tmp | sed 's/kpds7=//' | sort -t: -k4,4 -k6,6 -k7rn,7 -k3,3 | $WGRIB -i -s
-grib $tmp -o $2
fi

rm $tmp
exit 0
jan
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 3:48 am
Location: Kiel, Germany, GEOMAR

Re: Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Postby omar » Sat Jan 19, 2013 1:30 pm

Hi All,

This is my first post in this forum! :)

I m willing to run WRF NMM with ERA interim data, you seem to have found a way to get this data. is it possible to do the download procedure without having an ECMWF account?
omar
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 1:25 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Working with Various Datasets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron