ungrib.exe: missing pressure level output

Having problems running the WRF Preprocessing Sysmte (WPS)?

ungrib.exe: missing pressure level output

Postby ozanmert » Tue May 20, 2014 6:24 pm

Dear All

I am downscaling GISS-ModelE output for 2048 and experiencing a weird problem.

At certain hours, the intermediate files include no pressure level fields. There are only surface fields. For example, at 2048-01-01_06:00:00, the intermediate file FILE\:2048-01-01_06 contains

Code: Select all
================================================
FIELD = TT
UNITS = K DESCRIPTION = Temperature
DATE = 2048-01-01_06:00:00 FCST = 0.000000
SOURCE = unknown model and orig center
LEVEL = 5000.000000
I,J DIMS = 56, 30
IPROJ = 0  PROJECTION = LAT LON
  REF_X, REF_Y = 1.000000, 1.000000
  REF_LAT, REF_LON = 21.000002, -48.750004
  DLAT, DLON = 2.000000, 2.500000
  EARTH_RADIUS = 6367.470215
DATA(1,1)=198.912903

================================================


But this is nowhere to be found at FILE\:2048-01-02_00. It is also missing at FILE\:2048-01-03_00, FILE\:2048-01-04_00 ... and so on. All the intermediate hours (03, 06, 09...) have proper pressure level fields.

Strangely, both ungrib and metgrid run successfully. But of course, real.exe stops when it finds only one metgrid level (the relevant met_em files at 00 hours have missing num_metgrid_levels entry, while the intermediate hour met_em files have num_metgrid_levels = 31 , as they should have).

Below is my namelist.wps:

Code: Select all
&share
 wrf_core = 'ARW',
 max_dom = 2,
 start_date = '2048-01-01_06:00:00','2048-01-01_06:00:00'
 end_date   = '2048-02-01_00:00:00','2048-02-01_00:00:00'
 interval_seconds = 10800
 io_form_geogrid = 2,
&debug_level = 0,
/

&geogrid
 parent_id         =   1,   1,
 parent_grid_ratio =   1,   3,
 i_parent_start    =   1,  80,
 j_parent_start    =   1,  20,
 e_we              =  191, 187,
 e_sn              =  159,  157,
 geog_data_res     = '10m','2m',
 dx = 30000,
 dy = 30000,
 map_proj = 'lambert',
 ref_lat   =  51,
 ref_lon   =  23,
 truelat1  =  30.0,
 truelat2  =  60.0,
 stand_lon =  23,
 geog_data_path = '/progs/geog'
/

&ungrib
 out_format = 'WPS',
 prefix = 'FILE',
/

&metgrid
 fg_name = 'FILE',
 !constants_name = './SST:${basla_yil_sst}-${basla_ay_sst}-${basla_gun_sst}_00'
 io_form_metgrid = 2,


I checked all my input files and they look good. Do you have any idea why this problem occurs?

Many thanks in advance.
ozanmert
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 5:25 pm

Re: ungrib.exe: missing pressure level output

Postby dcvz » Wed May 21, 2014 3:40 am

It all depends on what is in the grib files. You can dump the content of the grib files with g2print.exe and see if the pressure-level data is really there for 00 UTC.
dcvz
 
Posts: 192
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:02 am

Re: ungrib.exe: missing pressure level output

Postby packard » Fri Oct 24, 2014 1:25 pm

dcvz wrote:It all depends on what is in the grib files. You can dump the content of the grib files with g2print.exe and see if the pressure-level data is really there for 00 UTC.


Yes, do check the grib file with util/g2print.exe.
Sometimes, even if everything is in the file, but when they are not recorded in sequence, some data may be neglected by ungrib program. I considered this as a bug and I have reported it in the board for 'bug'. You are welcomed to view my post in that board.

If this is the case, there are some suggestions you can try.
[*]Try to see if you can get the dataset in another way, so that data are recorded in sequence.
[*]According to the print-out from g2print.exe, try to cleverly choose the start_time and end_time in namelist (or pick only one time per run), and run it for many times so that it will cover the whole period of time you concern.
packard
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 10:33 pm


Return to Runtime Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron