How many domains at most can run simultaneously?

Discuss the nesting capability within the model itself and any problems you might have run into.

How many domains at most can run simultaneously?

Postby jzhang » Mon Jan 28, 2019 7:58 pm

Hello!

I am running a 12-domain simulation. There is no problem to run 11 domains. But when I added the last domain, WPS ran successfully, while real.exe failed at the very beginning with the error "invalid parent id for domain 2". I am wondering if 11 is the max domain number we can run simultaneously. Domain part namelist is attached below:
&domains
eta_levels = 1.000, 0.996, 0.99, 0.98, 0.97,
0.96, 0.95, 0.94, 0.93, 0.92,
0.91, 0.895, 0.88, 0.865, 0.85,
0.825, 0.8, 0.775, 0.75, 0.72,
0.69, 0.66, 0.63, 0.6, 0.57,
0.54, 0.51, 0.475, 0.44, 0.405,
0.37, 0.33, 0.29, 0.25, 0.21,
0.175, 0.145, 0.115, 0.09, 0.065,
0.045, 0.025, 0.01, 0.000,

time_step = 60,
time_step_fract_num = 0,
time_step_fract_den = 1,
max_dom = 12,
e_we = 130,73,73,61,61,61,61,61,76,76,100,76
e_sn = 100,73,73,73,61,61,61,61,76,76, 76,76
e_vert = 44, 44,44,44,44,44,44,44,44,44, 44,44
p_top_requested = 1000,
num_metgrid_levels = 27,
num_metgrid_soil_levels = 4,
dx = 36000,12000,12000,12000,4000,4000,4000,4000,1333.333,1333.333,1333.333,1333.333
dy = 36000,12000,12000,12000,4000,4000,4000,4000,1333.333,1333.333,1333.333,1333.333
grid_id = 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12
parent_id = 1,1,1,1,2,3,4,4,5,6,7,8
i_parent_start = 1,66,77,105,30,30,24,16,21,21,13,19
j_parent_start = 1,57,14,40,17,32,39,8,21,25,21,11
parent_grid_ratio = 1,3,3,3,3,3,3,3,3,3,3,3
parent_time_step_ratio = 1,3,3,3,3,3,3,3,3,3,3,3
feedback = 1,
smooth_option = 0

I appreciate any help.
Thank you a lot!

Jay
jzhang
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2018 6:08 pm

Re: How many domains at most can run simultaneously?

Postby kwthomas » Wed Jan 30, 2019 6:22 pm

Jay...

WRF 4.0.3 release.

frame/module_driver_constants.F:
max_domains = (MAX_DOMAINS_F - 1) / 2 + 1

arch/postamble (part of the compile process):
-DMAX_DOMAINS_F=$(MAX_DOMAINS)

arch/preamble (part of the compile process):
MAX_DOMAINS = 21

(21-1) / 2 + 1 is 11, which is what you found is the last number that works.

In theory, changing "MAX_DOMAINS" in arch/preamble is what you want, though no guarantees.

After changing, do a "clean -a", otherwise, you are inviting chaos.
Kevin W. Thomas
Center for Analysis and Prediction of Storms
University of Oklahoma
kwthomas
 
Posts: 279
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 6:53 pm

Re: How many domains at most can run simultaneously?

Postby jzhang » Wed Jan 30, 2019 10:12 pm

Thank you so much, Kevin. That is really helpful.
jzhang
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2018 6:08 pm


Return to Nesting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron